About Us

Habi

 

Habi Center for Environmental Rights

Habi Center for Environmental Rights was founded in July 2001. “Habi” is concerned with the environmental issues and how much the state and local legislations guarantee citizens’ right to access their environmental resources and their relevant information, in addition to right to participation in policies making and managing these environmental resources according to international human rights charters and conventions. Litigation mechanisms in general and strategic litigation mechanisms in particular are one of the most important means used by Habi in dealing with environmental violations committed against citizens.

Habi sheds light on corporate accountability (especially industrial and multinational ones)

Through this program, “Habi” is interested in holding multinational industrial companies accountable, monitoring the environmental violations against citizens and taking legal procedures and suing lawsuits against these companies to push them to follow law and apply transparency in their activities.

“Habi” works on citizens’ right to water (especially drinking water)

Habi center is interested in following up mechanisms of drinking water management in Egypt with focusing on the role played by the international institutions (World Bank, European Union, European Bank, American Aid…etc.) in determining water policies in Egypt, in addition to the institutions that provide loans regarding drinking water and sanitation. In this regard, “Habi” focusing on drinking water privatization together with highlighting its risks on citizens’ right to access drinking water and what is relevant regarding public private partnerships.

Moreover, Habi is concerned with management mechanisms of Nile River which is the most important source of life in Egypt in addition to monitoring operations that affect the river and its environmental status, especially industrial, domestic and agricultural drainages and asking for applying legislations that guarantee the protections of such source from violations caused by industrial companies, in addition to monitoring the disregarding of many state institutions responsible of managing Nile River and what Habi takes of legal procedures to face such violations.

Habi Center for Environmental Rights works on climate change especially as its catastrophic effects on earth in general and on Egypt in particular become un-doubtable reality. Egypt is one of the most five countries that affected by climate change all over the world, as most researches state the possibility of Delta sinking as one of the most lowest areas than sea level.

In this program, “Habi” works through raising awareness regarding climate changes and their risks on Egypt, issuing reports on local legislations and how much they include articles that state adaptation with climate changes impacts on Egypt and studying the quality of Egyptian legislations in facing large industrial companies that cause climate changes and how much these legislations guarantee suing lawsuits (compensations) against these companies.

 

 

picture gallery

no images were found

عن حابي

Habi

تأسس مركز حابى للحقوق البيئية فى يوليو 2001 وهو يهتم بالقضايا البيئية وإلى أى مدى تكفل الدولة والتشريعات المحلية  حق المواطنين فى الوصول الى مواردهم البيئية والمعلومات المرتبطة بها والحق فى المشاركة فى صنع السياسات وإدارة تلك الموارد البيئية وذلك وفقا لمعايير مواثيق حقوق الانسان الدولية . وتعتبر آليات التقاضى عموما والتقاضى الاستراتيجى خصوصا احدى اهم الوسائل التى يستخدمها حابى فى التعامل مع الانتهاكات البيئية لحقوق المواطنين .

ويعطى حابى أهمية خاصة لمسائلة الشركات الصناعية (خاصة متعددة الجنسية)  

وقد أهتم حابى من خلال هذا البرنامج بمسائلة الشركات الصناعية متعددة الجنسيات ورصد انتهاكاتها لحقوق المواطنين البيئية مع اتخاذ إجراءات قانونية وتحريك دعاوى قضائية ضد هذه الشركات وكذلك الجهات الحكومية التى تعطل تطبيق القانون عليها مع عمل حملات ضغط على هذه الشركات بغرض دفعها الى تطبيق القانون والشفافية فى أعمالها .

وكذلك يهتم حابى بحقوق المواطنين فى المياه (خاصة مياه الشرب)

ويهتم حابى بمتابعة آليات إدارة مياه الشرب فى مصر مع التركيز على الدور الذى تلعبه المؤسسات الدولية (البنك الدولى، البنك الأوربى، الاتحاد الأروبى، الماعونة الامريكية…. إلخ) فى تحديد السياسات المائية فى مصر وكذلك التى تقوم بتقديم القروض الخاصة ببنية مياه الشرب والصرف الصحى وفى هذا السياق يعطى حابى اهمية خاصة بموضوع خصخصة مياه الشرب مع ابراز مخاطرها على حقوق المواطنين فى الوصول الى مياه الشرب . وما يرتبط بهذه السياسة بعمل تشاركات بين القطاعين العام والخاص .

كذلك يهتم حابى بآليات إدارة نهر النيل الذى يعتبر أهم مصادر الحياة فى مصر مع رصد الأعمال التى تؤثر على نوعية هذا النهر وحالته البيئية خاصة ما يصرف عليه من صرف صناعى ومنزلى وزراعى مع المطالبة بتطبيق التشريعات التى تكفل حماية هذا المورد من الانتهاكات التى تسببها الشركات الصناعية وكذلك إهمال العديد من مؤسسات الدولة المسئوله عن إدارة نهر النيل مع ما يقوم به حابى من اتخاذ اجراءات قانونية لمواجهة هذه الانتهاكات .

ويعطى حابى موضوع التغيرات المناخية أهمية خاصة, حيث أن أثارها الكارثية على الكرة الارضية عامة وعلى مصر خاصة أصبحت حقيقة ملموسة لا جدال فيها . وتعتبر مصر من أكثر 5 دول تأثراً بآثار التغيرات المناخية على مستوى العالم، حيث تأكد كافة الابحاث العلمية من احتماليات غرق الدلتا كأحد أكثر المناطق انخفاضا عن مستوى سطح البحر.

وينطلق حابى للعمل على هذا الملف من خلال التوعية بالتغيرات المناخية ومخاطرها على مصر، واصدار التقارير حول التشريعات المحلية ومدى تضمنها للمواد التى تنص على التكيف مع آثار التغيرات المناخية على مصر، ودراسة مدى كفاءة التشريعات المصرية فى التصدى للشركات الصناعية الكبرى المتسببة فى التغيرات المناخية وإلى أى مدى يمكن من تكفل تلك التشريعات رفع دعاوى قضائية (تعويضات) ضد تلك الشركات .

Page Column